contacts
  / cps board
  /
safe kids certification

  / nhtsa regional
  /
state
  / manufacturers
 
resources
  / tech update
  / check-up clinics &
    fitting stations

 
  / links



State Contacts 

Updated: November 7, 2012

Following is a list of agencies and individuals who may be contacted for information on child passenger safety (CPS) training opportunities in each State and U.S. Territory. These contacts can also provide general information on CPS programs and activities in their respective States and Territories. Select a State to go directly to the contact for that State.

This information is based on state child passenger safety training contact information compiled by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Additional information is based on feedback and reports of changes and corrections to the list as reported to the National Child Passenger Safety Board.

Jump to Child Passenger Safety Training and Information Contacts for:

Alabama Guam Massachusetts North Carolina Texas
Alaska Hawaii Michigan North Dakota Utah
American Samoa Idaho Minnesota Northern Mariana Island Vermont
Arizona Illinois Mississippi Ohio Virgin Islands
Arkansas Indian Nations Missouri Oklahoma Virginia
California Indiana Montana Oregon Washington
Colorado Iowa Nebraska Pennsylvania West Virginia
Connecticut Kansas Nevada Puerto Rico Wisconsin
Delaware Kentucky New Hampshire Rhode Island Wyoming
District of Columbia Louisiana New Jersey South Carolina  
Florida Maine New Mexico South Dakota  
Georgia Maryland New York Tennessee  

Alabama
Mike James
Statewide CPS Coordinator
1228 Chesser Dr.
Huntsville, AL 35803
Phone: 256-509-3674
bwg@hiwaay.net



Alaska
Peggy Hayashi
Alaska Injury Prevention Center
3701 E. Tudor Road, Suite 105
Anchorage, AK 99507
Phone: 907-929-3939 / 907-688-5090
Fax: 907-929-3940
mhayashi@gci.net


Beth Schuerman
Project Director
Alaska Injury Prevention Center
3701 East Tudor Road, Suite 105
Anchorage, AK, 99507
Phone: 907-929-3939
Fax: 907-929-3940
Beth.Schuerman@alaska-ipc.org

American Samoa
David Bird
Office of Highway Safety
Government of American Samoa
P.O. Box 1086
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: 684-633-7634
Fax: 684-633-7296
fetuoleafiaf98@yahoo.com

Arizona
Liz Pena
Project Coordinator
Arizona Governor's Office of Highway Safety 3030 N. Central Avenue, Suite 1550
Phoenix, AZ 85012
Phone: 602-255-3209
Fax: 602-255-1265
lpena@azgohs.gov

Arkansas
Steve Rountree
Arkansas State Police
Highway Safety Program
One State Police Plaza Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209
Phone: 501-618-8486
Fax: 501-618-8124
Steve.Rountree@arkansas.gov

California
Donna Black
Regional Coordinator
Office of Traffic Safety
2208 Kausen Drive
Suite 300
Elk Grove CA, 95758
Phone: 916-509-3015
Fax: 916-509-3055
Donna.Black@ots.ca.gov

Colorado
Corporal Heather Cobler
Child Passenger Safety Program
Colorado State Patrol - HQ
700 Kipling Street
Lakewood, CO 80215
Phone: 303-239-4537
Heather.Cobler@cdps.state.co.us


Susan Yates
Colorado Child Passenger Safety Training Coordinator
The Children’s Hospital
Kiwanis Pediatric Trauma Institute
13123 East 16th Avenue, B922
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: 720-777-8414
susan.yates@childrenscolorado.org

List of States  

Connecticut
Juliette Little
State Coordinator
Department of Transportation
Division of Highway Safety
2800 Berlin Turnpike
P.O. Box 317546
Newington, CT 06131-7546
Phone: 860-549-2364
Fax: 860-594-2374
juliet.little@po.state.ct.us


Patricia Zainc
CPS Field Coordinator
Community Relations
Waterbury Police Department
240 Bank Street
Waterbury, CT 06702
Phone: 203-346-3908
Fax: 203-346-3926
PZainc@wtbypd.org

Delaware
Nadine Holleger
Fitting Station Coordinator
6471 Griffith Lake Road
Milford, DE 19963
Phone: 302-744-2749
Mobile: 302-387-2324
Nadine.Holleger@state.de.us
District of Columbia
Karen Gay
District Department of Transportation
Highway Safety Office
55 M Street SE, 5th Floor
Washington, DC 20003
Phone: 202-673-6835
Fax: 202-727-7502
Karen.gay@dc.gov

Florida
Ralph M. Salvas
Florida Department of Transportation
Safety Office
605 Suwannee Street, MS-17
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0450
Phone: 850-245-1526
Fax: 850-245-1553
ralph.salvas@dot.state.fl.us


Georgia
Linda Bradford
Governor's Office of Highway Safety
7 MartinLuther King Jr. Drive, Suite 643
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone: 404-656-6996

Fax: 404-651-9107
lbradfor@gohs.ga.gov


Megan Grundy
Governor's Office of Highway Safety
7 MartinLuther King Jr. Drive, Suite 643
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone:404-656-6996
Fax: 404-651-9107
mgrundy@gohs.ga.gov

List of States  

Guam
Therese Matanane
Department of Public Works
Office of Highway Safety
542 North Marine Corp Drive
Tamuning, GU 96913
Phone: 671-647-5059 / 671-646-3229
Fax: 671-646-3733
therese.matanane@dpw.guam.gov

Hawaii
Lee Nagano
Highway Safety Specialist
Safe Community Programs
Department of Transportation
869 Punchbowl Street, Room 405
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: 808-587-6301
Fax: 808-587-6303
Lee.nagano@hawaii.gov

Idaho
Lisa Losness
Idaho Transportation Department
Office of Highway Safety
3311 West State Street
P.O. Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129
Phone: 208-334-8103
Fax: 208-334-4430
lisa.losness@itd.idaho.gov

Illinois
Jennifer Toney
Occupant Protection Coordinator
Illinois Department of Transportation
Division of Traffic Safety
1340 N. 9th Street
Springfield, IL 62702

Phone: 217-782-0964
Fax: 217-782-9159
jennifer.toney@illinois.gov

Indian Nations
Pat Abeyta
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Indian Highway Safety Program
201 Third St., NW, Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone: 505-245-2104
Fax: 505-245-2106

 

Indiana
Judith Talty
Automotive Safety Program
Indiana University School of Medicine
575 West Drive, Room 004
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone: 317-944-2977 / 800-543-6227 (IN only)
jtalty@iupui.edu


Angie Morris
Child Passenger Safety/Young Driver Program Manager
Indiana Criminal Justice Institute
101 W. Washington St., #1170E
Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-232-2561
angmorris@cji.in.gov
April Brooks
State Child Passenger Safety Coordinator
Automotive Safety Program
575 West Drive, Room 004
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone: 317-944-8380 / 800-543-6227 (IN only)
apbrooks@iupui.edu
 
List of States  

Iowa
Brandi Thompson
Blank Children's Hospital
1200 Pleasant Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: 515-241-6293
Fax: 515-241-6732
thompsb3@ihs.org


Mark Nagel
Department of Public Safety
Public Safety Building, 3rd Floor
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone: 515-725-6126
Fax: 515-725-6133
nagel@dps.state.ia.us

Kansas
Norraine Wingfield
Project Director
Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office
2930 SW Wanamaker Drive, Suite 100
Topeka, KS 66614
Phone: 800-416-2522 / 785-288-8927
Fax: 785-233-1342
nwingfield@dccca.org

 

Kentucky
DeShaun Bailey
CPS Coordinator
Education Branch
Office of Highway Safety
200 Mero Street, 4th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40622
Phone: 502-564-1438
Fax: 502-564-0903
deshaun.bailey@ky.gov


Sharon Rengers
Kosair Children's Hospital
PO Box 35070
Louisville, KY 40232
Phone: 502-629-7337
Fax: 502-629-7331
sharon.rengers@nortonhealthcare.org

Louisiana
Dortha Cummins
Occupant Protection Coordinator

Louisiana Highway Safety Commission
PO Box 66336
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Phone: 225-925-
0456
Fax: 225-922-0517
dortha.cummins@dps.la.gov


Bridget S. Gardner
Program Coordinator
Louisiana Passenger Safety Task Force
Charity Hospital Trauma Center
Trauma Program West 402
1532 Tulane Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: 504-903-8592
BGARDN@lsuhsc.edu
List of States  

Maine
Janet Cummings
CPS Coordinator
Bureau of Highway Safety
164 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0164
Phone: 207-626-3840
Fax: 207-287-3430
janet.cummings@maine.gov

Maryland
Tracy Whitman
MD Kids in Safety Seats
201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-767-1363
Fax: 410-333-5385
Tracy.Whitman@maryland.gov


Massachusetts
Cindy Campbell
Highway Safety Division
Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
Ten Park Plaza, Suite 3720
Boston, MA 02116-3933
Phone: 617-725-3351
Fax. 617-725-0260
cynthia.campbell@state.ma.us


Don Dupray
181 Boxford Road
Rowley, MA 01969
Phone: 978-852-8478
triadtraffic@verizon.net

Michigan
Alyson Kechkaylo
Occupant Protection Program Coordinator
Office of Highway Safety Planning
333 South Grand Avenue.
PO Box 30634
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-241-2546
Fax: 517-241-2501
kechkayloa@michigan.gov

Minnesota
Heather Darby
CPS Coordinator
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Office of Traffic Safety
444 Cedar Street
Suite 150, Town Square
Saint Paul, MN 55101-5150
Phone: 651-201-7068
Fax: 651-297-4844
heather.darby@state.mn.us

List of States  

Mississippi
Twyla Jennings
Governor's Office of Highway Safety
Department of Public Safety
3750 I-55 N Frontage Rd
Jackson, MS 39211
Phone: 601-987-4990
Fax: 601-987-4154
tjennings@dps.ms.gov


Michael Hughes
Safe Kids Mississippi
Outreach Coordinator
1304 Vine Street
Jackson, MS 39202
Phone: 601-360-0531
Fax:601-360-0537
mhughesskms@bellsouth.net

Missouri
Pam Hoelscher
Missouri Department of Transportation
Division of Highway Safety
P.O. Box 270
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: 800-800-2358 / 573-751-4161
Fax: 573-634-5977
pamela.hoelscher@modot.mo.gov

 

Montana
Pam Buckman
State Highway Traffic Safety Bureau
2701 Prospect Ave
PO Box 201001
Helena, MT 59620-1001
Phone: 406-444-0809
Fax: 406-444-9409
pbuckman@mt.gov


Lonie Hutchison
Missoula City-County Health Department
301 West Alder
Missoula, MT 59801
Phone: 406-258-3880
Fax: 406-258-3610
hutchisonl@ho.missoula.mt.us

Nebraska
Tim Jasnosh
Traffic Safety Specialist
Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
301 Centennial Mall South
PO Box 94612
Lincoln, NE 68509-4612
Phone: 402-471-2515
Fax: 402-471-3865
tim.jasnoch@nebraska.gov


Jason Kerkman
Injury Prevention Program/Safe Kids Coordinator
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South
PO Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: 402-471-8749 / 800-745-9311
Fax: 402-471-6446
jason.kerkman@nebraska.gov

Nevada
Traci Pearl
Highway Safety Coordinator
Nevada Office of Traffic Safety
Department of Public Safety
107 Jacobsen Way
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: 775-684-7476
Fax: 775-684-7482
tpearl@dps.state.nv.us

Masha Wilson
Occupant Protection Program Manager
Nevada Office of Traffic Safety
Department of Public Safety
107 Jacobsen Way
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: 775-684-7469 / 775-443-7930
Fax: 775-684-7482
mwilson@dps.state.nv.us
List of States  
New Hampshire
Deb Garvin
State Coordinator
NH Highway Safety Agency
Pine Inn Plaza
117 Manchester Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-271-2131
Fax: 603-271-3790
dgarvin@nhhsa.state.nh.us


Jo-Ellen Courtney
Field/Training Coordinator
N. H. Injury Prevention Center
One Medical Center Drive
Lebanon, NH 03756
Phone: 877-783-0432
Fax: 603-653-1139
jo-ellen.courtney@dartmouth.edu

New Jersey
Fred Lyle
Department of Law & Public Safety
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
PO Box 048
Trenton, NJ 08625-0048
Phone: 609-633-9300
Fax: 609-633-9020
fred.lyle@lps.state.nj.us


New Mexico
David Lapington
State Highway & Transportation Department
P.O. Box 1149
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1149
Phone: 505-827-0427
Fax: 505-827-0431
david.lapington@state.nm.us


Lisa Kelloff
President
Safer New Mexico Now
9400 Holly Ave., NE, Suite 201
Albuquerque, NM 87122
Phone: 505-856-6100
Fax: 505-332-7757
lkelloff@safernm.org
New York
Barbara Formica
Child Passenger Safety Coordinator

Governor's Traffic Safety Committee
6 Empire State Plaza, Room 414
Albany, NY 12228
Phone: 518-474-6407
Fax: 518-473-6946
Barbara.Formica@dmv.ny.gov

 

List of States  

North Carolina
Joshua DeFisher
Highway Safety Specialist
Governor’s Highway Safety Program
215 East Lane Street
Raleigh, NC 27601-1508
Phone: 919-733-3083
Fax: 919-733-0604
jsdefisher@ncdot.gov


Bill Hall
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
730
Martin Luther King Blvd., Suite 300
CB# 3430
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: 919-962-8721 / 800-672-4527 (in NC)
Fax: 919-962-8710
bill_hall@unc.edu
Bevan Kirley
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
730 Martin Luther King Blvd., Suite 300
CB# 3430
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: 919-962-
5836 / 800-672-4527 (in NC)
Fax: 919-962-8710
kirley@hsrc.unc.edu
 
North Dakota
Carol Thurn
North Dakota Department of Transportation
608 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0700
Phone: 701-328-4354
Fax: 701-328-2435
cthurn@nd.gov

Dawn Mayer
Child Passenger Safety Program
North Dakota Department of Health
600
East Boulevard Avenue, Dept.301
Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: 701-328-4533
Fax: 701-328-1412
drmayer@nd.gov

Northern Mariana Island
Leo T. Duenas
Department of Public Safety
Office of Grants and Special Programs
P.O. Box 791
Garapan, 3rd Floor Family Building
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: 670-664-9121
Fax: 670-664-9141
Lduenas@dps.gov.mp

 

Ohio
Bob Painter
Regional Program Manager
Ohio Traffic Safety Office
Office of Criminal Justice Services
1970 West Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43223
614-466-3250
614-752-4646 (fax)
bpainter@dps.state.oh.us

Christy Beeghly
Administrator
Violence and Injury Prevention Program
Ohio Department of Health
246 N. High Street, 8th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: 614-728-4116
Fax: 614-564-2409
Christy.Beeghly@odh.ohio.gov
List of States  

Oklahoma
Samantha Harcrow
Occupant Protection Program Manager
Oklahoma Highway Safety Office
3223 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Phone: 405-523-1578
Fax: 405-523-1586
SHarcrow@dps.state.ok.us


Sabrina Mackey
Program Manager
Oklahoma Highway Safety Office
3223 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Phone: 405-523-1577
Fax: 405-523-1586
smackey@dps.state.ok.us

Beth Washington
Safe Kids Tulsa
5353 E. 68th Street
Tulsa, OK 74136
Phone: 918-494-7233
Fax: 918-494-6495
bawashington@saintfrancis.com
Lauren Farrah
Safe Kids Oklahoma City
900 N. Portland Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Phone: 405-945-6709
lauren@safekidsok.org
Oregon
Sandy Holt
Child Safety Seat Resource Center
ACTS Oregon
8059 SW Cirrus Dr.
Beaverton, OR 97008

Toll Free: 800-772-1315 (in Oregon)
Phone: 503-643-5620 ext. 106
Fax: 503-643-5680
sandyh@actsoregon.org
 
Pennsylvania
Angela Osterhuber
Pennsylvania Traffic Injury Prevention Project
Rose Tree Corporate Center II
1400 N. Providence Rd.
Suite 3007
Media, PA 19063
Phone: 484-446-3036
Fax: 484-446-3255
aosterhuber@paaap.org
Puerto Rico
Vivian Pedraza
Coordinator
Traffic Safety Commission
Minillas Station
PO Box 41289
Santurce, PR 00940
Phone: 787-723-3590
Fax: 787-727-8040
vpedraza@cst.gobierno.pr
Rhode Island
James Barden
State Coordinator
Rhode Island Department of Transportation
Office on Highway Safety
2 Capitol Hill, Suite 106
Providence, RI 02909-1052
Phone: 401-222-2023 ext. 4059
Fax: 401-222-1856
james.barden@dot.ri.gov

Dina Morrissey
Program Coordinator
Injury Prevention Center
Rhode Island Hospital
55 Claverick Street, 2nd Floor
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-444-5018
Fax: 401-444-2249
dmorrissey@lifespan.org

South Carolina
Neal Martin
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
Division of Injury & Violence Prevention
1751 Calhoun Street
Mills/Jarrett Complex
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: 803-898-0370
martinco@dhec.sc.gov

South Dakota
Melissa Fluckey
Department of Social Services
Division of Child Care Services
700 Governors Drive
Kneip Building
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-773-4766
Fax: 605-773-7294
Melissa.Fluckey@state.sd.us

List of States  
Tennessee
Deborah Scruggs

Governor’s Highway Safety Ofice
James K. Polk State Office Building
505 Deaderick Street, Suite 1800
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-532-3149
Fax: 615-253-5523
Deborah.Scruggs@tn.gov


Texas
Shirley Ashbrook
Program Manager, Occupant Protection
Texas Department of Transportation
118 E. Riverside Drive
Austin, TX 78704
Phone: 512-416-3261
shirley.ashbrook@txdot.gov


Frank Luera
Safe Riders Program
Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W. 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756
Phone: 800-252-8255
frank.luera@dshs.state.tx.us

Utah
Kerilee Burton
Training Coordinator
Utah Department of Public Safety
Highway Safety Office
5500 Amelia Earhart Drive, Suite 155
Salt Lake City, UT 84118
Phone: 801-505-3315
Fax: 801-366-6044
kburton@utah.gov


Kristy Rigby
Occupant Protection Program Manager
Utah Department of Public Safety
Highway Safety Office
5500 Amelia Earhart Drive, Suite 155
Salt Lake City, UT 84118
Phone: 801-366-6047
Fax: 801-366-6044
krigby@utah.gov

Vermont
Ann Weinstein
BeSeatSmart Program
Fletcher Allen Health Care
128 Lakeside Ave. Ste. 106
Burlington, VT 05401
Phone: 802-847-1215
Fax: 802-847-6545
ann.weinstein@vtmednet.org

Virgin Islands
Leslie Dickinson
CPS Coordinator
Virgin Islands Office of Highway Safety
VI Police Department
Patrick Sweeney Headquarters
RR Kingshill
St. Croix, VI 00850
Phone: 340-778-2244
Fax: 340-772-2626
lsdickie@yahoo.co
 
Virginia
Mary Ann Rayment
Occupant Protection/Media Coordinator
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
3551 Buckner Boulevard
VA Beach, VA 23456
Phone: 757-416-1741
Fax: 757-416-1676
maryann.rayment@dmv.virginia.gov


John Messina
Statewide Training Coordinator
Occupant Protection for Children
Virginia Commonwealth University
Transportation Safety Training Center
1312 West Main Street
Richmond, VA 23220
Phone: 804-828-3073
Fax: 804-828-1484
jmessina@vcu.edu

Washington
Cesi Velez
Bonney Lake Police Department
CPS Program
18421 Old Buckley Hwy.
Bonney Lake, WA 98391
Phone: 253-447-3257
velezc@ci.bonney-lake.wa.us


Kathy Kruger
Safety Restraint Coalition
917 Kirkland Ave.
Kirkland, WA 98033
Toll Free in WA: 800-BUCK-L-UP (282-5587)
Phone: 425-828-8975
Fax: 425-828-9083
office@800bucklup.org

West Virginia
Trish Anderson
Child Passenger Safety Coordinator/Program Manager
Governor's Highway Safety Program
2 Hale Street, Suite 100
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304-558-6080
Fax: 304-558-6083
Trish.A.Anderson@wv.gov



List of States  
Wisconsin
John Remy
Department of Transportation
Bureau of Transportation Safety
4802 Sheboyghan Avenue, Suite 809
PO Box 7936
Madison, WI 53707
Phone: 608-267-7520
Fax: 608-267-0441
john.remy@dot.wi.gov

Patti Dickey
Portage County CPS Association
52 Sunset Blvd.
Stevens Point, WI 54481
Phone: 715-341-7328
Fax: 715-346-0003
wins9467@gmail.com
Wyoming
Anna Thompson
Wyoming Department of Transportation
Highway Safety Program
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340
Phone: 307 777-4199
Fax: 307-777-4250
Anna.Thompson@dot.state.wy.us
 
Stephanie Heitsch
Safe Kids Wyoming Coordinator
Injury Prevention Program
Cheyenne Regional Medical Center
214 East 23rd
Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone: 307-633-7525
Stephanie.Heitsch@crmcwy.org
List of States  


 

Contact Amy Heinzen for more information.