Award Nominations

Instructor, Technician and Team of the Year

The National Child Passenger Safety Board (NCPSB) annually accepts nominations in recognition of outstanding child passenger safety (CPS) contributions. This national award program is sponsored by the NCPSB to honor the men and women who dedicate their time and skills to ensure our nation’s children are transported safely. In the past, each winner has been awarded $500, courtesy of AAA.  The award is presented at the annual Lifesavers Conference each spring.

The nomination period for the 2019 awards is closed.

Thank you to everyone that submitted a nomination. The awards will be presented in April 2019.

Please think about who you might nominate in the next awards cycle. More information about these awards is provided below.


Anyone, including past National CPS Board members, may nominate a Technician, Instructor or Team. Current NCPSB members cannot submit a nomination, be nominated or apply for these awards. All candidates must be currently certified CPS Technicians or Instructors. Individuals are only eligible for their national certification level, either Certified Technician or Certified Instructor. Should any candidate be nominated in an incorrect category, the application will be corrected automatically.

Child Passenger Safety Technician of the Year:

This individual must be a currently certified Child Passenger Safety Technician (CPST) who shows extraordinary dedication to and support of child passenger safety programs and activities. This individual should enthusiastically support his or her local, state and/or national level CPS program(s), including car seat check-up events and other educational programs. This individual should successfully educate caregivers on how to transport their child(ren) safely based on NHTSA’s best practices.

Child Passenger Safety Technician Instructor of the Year:

This individual must be a currently certified CPS Technician Instructor. The individual must have shown extraordinary dedication to child passenger safety programs in his or her local community and at the state or national level. The ideal nominee actively seeks updates on new and emerging technologies and information. He or she should demonstrate dedication to the National Child Passenger Safety  Technician Certification Training Program through participation in training activities. The individual should have exemplary teaching skills and serve as a resource to students and CPSTs in his or her area.

Child Passenger Safety Team or Organization of the Year:

This team should embody the qualities outlined above for Technicians and Instructors. In addition, the team should demonstrate positive impact in their communities, as well as mentoring and encouraging new CPS Technicians while increasing child passenger safety awareness. Please include descriptions of any innovative approaches utilized, efforts to stay technically current and to collaborate with other organizations to expand child passenger safety programming in their community and beyond.

Nomination and Review Process

Nominations for the National CPS Awards opened April 21, 2018 for the 2019 Awards. The nomination period closed September 30, 2018, at the close of National CPS Month. Applications are evaluated by the National CPS Board through a blind review to select the final awardees.

Please think about who you would like to nominate for the 2020 awards (nomination period open during 2019.)  Thank you!

Notification of Results:

The winner must agree to have his or her name and picture publicized. Winners will be announced and recognized at the annual Lifesavers Conference. All winners, nominators and nominees will be recognized on the NCPSB website and in the CPS Express newsletter following the announcement at Lifesavers.


Questions about the National Child Passenger Safety Awards should be submitted to: A CPS Board representative will be in touch with you to answer questions.